Print this page Print this page

A Project Lifecycle and the Construction Process - Seven Stages from Conception to Demolition

Timothy D. Blackburn, MBA, P.E.

Course Outline

This course describes the Lifecycle of a project, from cradle (conception) to grave (demolition). Each step requires certain activities, as well as reasonable expectations. Often, someone is assigned the task of managing a project without a clue as to how to start. Some think it only requires calling in a contractor. Others see it as an act of fiat. This course will describe essential steps to be taken if a project is to be successful, minimum deliverables at each step, and reasonable expectations of estimate accuracy at various steps. This course is essential for anyone managing a project, maintenance operations, etc. As well, we will learn about the later stages of a project - renewal and/or demolition.

This course includes a multiple choice quiz at the end, which is designed to enhance the understanding of the course materials.

Learning Objective

The following are the course learning objectives. Upon completion of this course, the student will be able to:

Intended Audience

The intended audiences are engineers, architects, project managers, maintenance/facilities engineers, and owners. As well, anyone interested in all the phases of a Project's Lifecycle will benefit from this course.

Benefit to Attendees

The benefit for the attendee is to learn the essential steps of a project Lifecycle, and know the reasonable deliverables for each. This, if followed, will make a project more successful and predictable than a "haphazard" approach.

Course Introduction

There are seven stages of a project described in this course, with activities that must be completed before moving on to the next; birth is Stage 1, or Conception. The final stage, death or demolition, is Stage 7. Often, projects are attempted to be managed by circumventing a stage or substage, and problems result. Like life, we will go to the next stage automatically, but if something was missed or unresolved in the previous there will be problems. This course describes the fundamental elements of the stages, also including Stage 2 - Planning & Design, Stage 3 - Construction, Stage 4 - Commissioning & Turnover, Stage 5 - Occupancy or Use, and Stage 6 - Renewal. Substages for Stage 2, 3, and 4 are further delineated. These stages are tried and true (although sometimes described differently), and are essential in developing a successful project. These stages or steps in a project are useful in describing the process of developing and maintaining a project for your customers.

Course Content

The course content is in a PDF file (86 KB) A Project Lifecycle and the Construction Process - Seven Stages from Conception to Demolition. You need to open or download this document to study this course.

Course Summary

This course describes the fundamental elements of a project's lifecycle stages, including Stage 1 - Conception, Stage 2 - Planning & Design, Stage 3 - Construction, Stage 4 - Commissioning & Turnover, Stage 5 - Occupancy or Use, Stage 6 - Renewal, and Stage 7 - Demolition. Understanding this rational approach to a project lifecycle is essential in planning, implementing, and maintaining a project.


Once you finish studying the above course content, you need to take a quiz to obtain the PDH credits.

Take a Quiz

DISCLAIMER: The materials contained in the online course are not intended as a representation or warranty on the part of PDH Center or any other person/organization named herein. The materials are for general information only. They are not a substitute for competent professional advice. Application of this information to a specific project should be reviewed by a registered architect and/or professional engineer/surveyor. Anyone making use of the information set forth herein does so at their own risk and assumes any and all resulting liability arising therefrom.